Rod Cowell has some great pictures and video of the 2015 Race!  

‚ÄčWatch Jeff Tolliver's 2014 BCSP enduro run!

Cool blog by Tiffany Hutchens, 2014 XX division champion!

SATURDAY, JULY 23RD at Brown County State Park  Nashville, Indiana

the 2016 panting deer enduro race!

the 2015 panting deer enduro race!

2014 Panting Deer Adventures LLC

Our enduros are based on points, the object being to acquire the fewest points.  Riders complete a marked course against a running clock (usually 3-5 hours).  The course is divided into timed stages/segments marked by checkpoints. Riders start each segment at a predetermined time, and attempt to get to the the next checkpoint by a predetermined target time.  There are three types of segments:

  • Test Segments   are scored, gravity assisted dashes to known check points.   Riders are expected at a checkpoint by a target time (their "number"), and are generally assessed one point per minute "past their number".  These segments are designed to be difficult or impossible for any rider to complete in the allotted time (zero their number).    
  • Transfer Segments  are recovery rides that connect test segments.  They have very manageable target times and may even include rest phases.  Transfer segments are not scored, so they may be ridden at a "casual, but not dawdling" pace.  If a rider completes a transfer segment early, he/she may use the extra time to recover, refuel, repair, or kick around with his/her friends waiting for the next segment's start time. 
  • Tempo Segments  are transfer segments that challenge the rider with greater elevation gain, technical terrain, or faster required speed.  Tempo segments are not scored, but as with transfer segments, the clock is always running.

Riders begin the day in waves of 2-4, each wave starting 1-2 minutes after the previous wave.  Each rider's number plate has their "race number", the number of minutes after the race start that his/her wave is released.  For example, if the race begins at 9:00, and a rider's number is 27b, he/she is released at 9:27, along with riders 27a, 27c, and 27d.  The scorer at each checkpoint starts a stopwatch at the "key time" assigned for that checkpoint, and releases each wave of riders as their "number comes up".  For example, if the key time for checkpoint 1 is 9:08, the scorer at checkpoint 1 starts a stopwatch at 9:08.  As riders arrive at checkpoint 1, the scorer releases riders with number plate 1 at minute number 1 on the stopwatch, number plate 2 at 2 minutes, ...number plate 27 at 27 minutes.  If checkpoint 1 is a test segment, the scorer writes on each rider's number plate the stopwatch time that they passed through.  If rider 27b reaches checkpoint 1 at minute 28 on the stopwatch, the scorer writes "28" on the rider's number plate next to a place marked for CP 1.  The rider is assessed one point for being one minute late.  On tie breaker test segments, the scorer writes the minutes and seconds on the number plate.  Riders who complete the course are categorized as gold, silver, or bronze finishers, depending on their point totals.  Each category will have podium awards.   


panting deer enduro format

what is enduro?

Enduro is an exciting race format pitting the cross country rider's fitness against the downhiller's trail bombing and bike handling.  In essence, it is a series of "pedally" downhill stages connected by generous uphill transitions.

Panting Deer's unique scoring format creates a level playing field for cross country and downhillers, which opens a crease for every day Joe rider to get in there and mix it up! 

The Panting Deer Enduro Series is a "ride what ya brung", kick your buddy's bee-hind, bragging rights for the year, all around challenge for every type of rider!